HR Tip of the Week

Posted on  |  Pay, Compliance

Minimum Wage Changes Effective July 1, 2024

Woman using cell phone in a shipping room with boxes

Two states, the District of Columbia, and many local jurisdictions will increase their minimum wage rates on July 1, 2024. Below is a summary of these changes and guidelines to help you comply with your minimum wage requirements.

State and district minimum wage increases

This table covers July 1, 2024 minimum wage increases for all applicable states and the District of Columbia. Some states increase their minimum wage rates on a different schedule. The information below applies only to July 1, 2024 increases.

State or district

Minimum wage rate as of July 1, 2024

District of Columbia

$17.50 per hour


$12.00 per hour


$13.70, $14.70, or $15.95 per hour depending on region*

* Oregon: Oregon's minimum wage differs based on where the employer is located:

  • Non-urban counties: Employers in Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, and Wheeler must pay non-exempt employees at least: 

    o    $13.70 per hour beginning July 1, 2024.
  • General: Employers that aren't located in one of the non-urban counties above and aren't located within the metropolitan Portland urban growth boundary (see below) must pay non-exempt employees at least: 

    o    $14.70 per hour beginning July 1, 2024.
  • Portland metro: Employers that are within the metropolitan Portland urban growth boundary must pay non-exempt employees at least: 

    o    $15.95 per hour beginning July 1, 2024.

California healthcare worker minimum wage

Updated on July 1, 2024:: The minimum wage for health care workers in California has been delayed from July 1, 2024 to at least October 15, 2024. Originally, the minimum wage was supposed to take effect June 1, 2024, but it has now been delayed twice..

The increase to the minimum wage for covered health care workers will be delayed until either of the following occur: 

  • The California Department of Finance notifies the legislature that agency cash receipts for next quarter are at least three percent higher than projected at the time the 2024 budget was enacted. If this notification occurs, the health care minimum wage would take effect October 15, 2024.
  • The California Department of Health Care Services notifies the legislature that it has initiated the data retrieval necessary to implement an increase to the hospital quality assurance fee. If this this notification occurs, the health care minimum wage would take effect the earlier of January 1, 2025, or 15 days after the notification

Local minimum wage increases

Numerous cities and counties are also increasing their minimum wage effective July 1, 2024. Some local jurisdictions adjust their minimum wages annually for inflation each July, but they haven't announced their 2024 rates yet.

The following table includes many of the announced local rate changes for 2024 as well as some other local jurisdictions that typically make annual adjustments each July but haven't announced their 2024 rate yet. This is not an exhaustive list. There may be additional local jurisdictions that have scheduled increases for July 1. Check your local laws to confirm compliance.

Local jurisdiction

Hourly minimum wage rate as of July 1, 2024

Alameda City, CA


Berkeley, CA


Emeryville, CA


Fremont, CA


Long Beach (Hotel Workers)


Long Beach (Concessionaire Workers)


Los Angeles (City), CA


Los Angeles (City) Hotel Workers


Los Angeles County
(Unincorporated Areas Only) 


Malibu, CA


Milpitas, CA


Pasadena, CA


San Francisco, CA


Santa Monica, CA


Chicago, IL (21 or more employees)


Chicago, IL (4 – 20 employees)


Montgomery County, MD (51 or more EEs)


Montgomery County, MD (11 to 50 EEs)


Minneapolis, MN (100 or fewer EEs)


St. Paul, MN (101 to 10,000 EEs)


St. Paul, MN (Six to 100 EEs)


St. Paul, MN (Five or fewer EEs)


Renton, WA (501 or more EEs worldwide)


Renton, WA (15 to 500 EEs worldwide or fewer than 15 EEs with more than $2 million in gross revenue)


Tukwila, WA (15 to 500 EEs worldwide or fewer than 15 EEs with more than $2 million in gross revenue)


Other considerations

Tipped employees

In some jurisdictions, the minimum cash wage required for tipped employees also increases with the minimum wage. For example, the minimum cash wage for tipped employees in the District of Columbia will increase from $8.00 per hour to $10.00 per hour on July 1, 2024. In the District of Columbia, if an employee's hourly tip earnings (averaged weekly) and cash wages don't equal or exceed $17.50 per hour, the employer must pay the difference. Check your state and local law to determine whether the minimum cash wage is changing on July 1, 2024.

Note:  Some jurisdictions, such as California, Minnesota, Nevada and Oregon, don't allow employers to apply a tip credit toward the minimum wage. In such cases, you must pay tipped employees the full minimum in direct cash wages.

Multiple minimum wage rates

If an employee is subject to more than one minimum wage requirement (such as federal, state and local), you should generally comply with the rate most generous to the employee. For example, if your state minimum wage is $15 and the local minimum wage is $16, you must generally pay the employee at least $16 per hour, since it's higher than the state and federal minimum wage rates. 

Additionally, if your business is located in one state, but you have employees (such as remote workers) working in another jurisdiction, the minimum wage in the location where the employee performs work generally applies.

Note:  Some requirements may only apply to businesses of a certain size, or employees who perform a certain number of work hours in that jurisdiction. Check your state and local law for details.

Employees earning more than the minimum wage

When the minimum wage increases, some employers provide a raise to employees already earning equal to or more than the new rate. While there's no obligation to provide a raise in such cases, some employees may be expecting one. Consider the potential impact on labor costs, employee moraleinternal equity (how employees are paid when compared with other employees within your company based on skills and experience), and your typical merit increase schedule.

New posters

Most jurisdictions require employers to post an up-to-date minimum wage notice in the workplace. State and federal posters are available for download in the HR section of the RUN Powered by ADP® platform. ADP clients with the Labor Law Poster Compliance Update Service receive updated posters automatically. Your state or city may have additional notice requirements. Check your jurisdiction's requirements to ensure compliance.

More 2024 increases coming

Some jurisdictions schedule their changes at another point during the year. For example, Florida's minimum wage will increase to $13.00 per hour on September 30, 2024. Closely monitor minimum wage changes in your jurisdiction to ensure compliance.

Overtime exemptions

In some states, including Oregon, the minimum salary required to be classified as exempt from overtime is tied to the minimum wage. However, Oregon's new minimum salary requirements for exemption will still be lower than the new federal salary requirement of $844 per week that becomes effective July 1, 2024. Therefore, the change in the state's salary requirements for exemption will likely impact only employees who aren't covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (virtually all employees are covered) but are covered by state law. 

To determine the weekly minimum salary requirement for exemption from overtime, Oregon uses the following formula:

  • Multiply the applicable minimum wage by 2,080 and then divide by 12 and then divide by 4.3.

Note:  State and federal law require that certain duties tests also be satisfied to qualify for exemption from overtime.

Changes to the minimum wage can also impact other overtime rules. For example, non-exempt employees in Nevada who are paid less than 1.5 times the minimum wage rate are also entitled to overtime pay whenever they work more than 8 hours in any workday. This is commonly referred to as daily overtime. Effective July 1, 2024, Nevada’s daily overtime requirement will apply unless non-exempt employees are paid at least $18.00 per hour. Keep in mind that the employees would still be entitled to overtime pay if they work more than 40 hours in a workweek, regardless of whether the above threshold is met, unless they are otherwise exempt.


Ensure that you understand the minimum wage rules that apply to your employees. And, if applicable and if you are any ADP RUN client, make any necessary changes in RUN Powered by ADP® before July 1, 2024. Additionally, be sure to post updated minimum wage notices in each work location.


    Most popular