Spring 2018 HR Compliance Calendar
Select the state(s) in which your company operates for a summary of compliance requirements that took effect recently or will take effect over the next few months.
California | District of Columbia | Illinois | Maryland | Massachusetts | Minnesota | New York | Oregon | Rhode Island | Washington
- California expands paid sick leave. Providers of in-home supportive services who work in California for 30 or more days within a year from their start of employment are entitled to paid sick leave. Previously, these individuals weren't covered by the state's paid sick leave law.
- Los Angeles, CA increases minimum wage. For employers with 25 or fewer employees, the minimum wage increases to $12.00 per hour. For larger employers, the minimum wage increases to $13.25 per hour.
- San Francisco, CA increases minimum wage. The minimum wage increases to $15.00 per hour.
- San Francisco, CA bans salary history inquiries. Employers are prohibited from asking about an applicant's salary history. The state of California has also enacted a ban on salary history inquiries, which became effective January 1, 2018. San Francisco employers will need to coordinate compliance with both laws.
District of Columbia:
- DC increases minimum wage. The minimum wage increases to $13.25 per hour.
- Chicago, IL increases minimum wage. The minimum wage increases to $12.00 per hour.
- Cook County, IL increases minimum wage. The minimum wage increases to $11.00 per hour. Note: Illinois law allows cities and villages within a county to opt out of laws enacted by counties. Cook County employers should check on the status of the minimum wage requirement in the cities and villages where they have a place of business or employees working to confirm their compliance obligations.
- Maryland increases minimum wage. The minimum wage increases to $10.10 per hour.
- Montgomery County, MD increases minimum wage. For employers with 50 or fewer employees, the minimum wage increases to $12.00 per hour. For larger employers, the minimum wage increases to $12.25 per hour.
- Massachusetts expands protections for pregnant workers. Employers are prohibited from discriminating against applicants and employees on the basis of pregnancy or related conditions and are required to make reasonable accommodations, unless it would impose an undue hardship on the business.
- Minneapolis, MN increases minimum wage. For employers with 100 or fewer employees, the minimum wage increases to $10.25 per hour. For larger employers, the minimum wage increases to $11.25 per hour.
- NYC expands paid sick leave law. NYC employees may take leave when they or a covered family member has been the victim of a family offense matter, sexual offense, stalking, or human trafficking.
- Oregon enacts scheduling requirements for certain establishments. Employers in the retail, food services, and hospitality industries employing 500 or more employees worldwide must comply with various scheduling practices.
- Oregon increases minimum wage. The minimum wage increases to $10.50 per hour (non-urban counties), $10.75 per hour (other counties except Metro Portland), and $12.00 per hour (Metro Portland).
- Rhode Island enacts sick leave law. Employers with 18 or more employees working in the state must allow employees to accrue at least one hour of paid sick leave for every 35 hours worked (up to 24 hours). Smaller employers must also provide leave, but it may be unpaid.
- Washington restricts criminal history inquiries. Unless the employer has already determined that the applicant is "otherwise qualified" for the position, employers are prohibited from asking applicants about their criminal record.
- Washington expands protections for domestic violence victims. Among other things, employers must provide reasonable safety accommodations requested by individuals who are victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking, unless it would pose an undue hardship on the business.
- Washington restricts certain provisions in employment agreements. Provisions are void and unenforceable if they require an employee to waive their right to pursue a cause of action under nondiscrimination laws, or resolve claims of discrimination in a dispute resolution process that is confidential. Employers are also prohibited from requiring an employee, as a condition of employment, to sign a nondisclosure agreement that prevents the employee from disclosing sexual harassment or sexual assault.
- Washington amends equal pay law. Among other things, the state has clarified the definition of unlawful pay discrimination and similarly employed individuals for purposes of determining equal pay. Employers are also prohibited from retaliating against an employee for discussing their wages or the wages of any other employee.
Note: The list of minimum wage rates above includes minimum wage increases for larger U.S. cities. Several smaller cities also increased their minimum wage rates for July 1, 2018. Check your local minimum wage to ensure compliance.